Library News

news and events at the UCSB Library

What Are You Reading For Fun?

Posted by UCSB Libraries on October 6, 2009

Reading on the Beach

It’s always interesting to hear what people are reading for recreation.   What are you reading these days, UCSB?

28 Responses to “What Are You Reading For Fun?”

  1. Kaisa said

    “The Siege of Krishnapur” by J.G. Farrell. It’s one of the best books I’ve read in a long time.

  2. Annie said

    I am slowly working my way through the Brothers Karamazov by Dostoyevsky. It is a really long book, but is worth every page!

  3. Anjali said

    I finally decided to read the Harry Potter series, and I’m making my way through the seventh one now. Maybe not the most educational, but they definitely sucked me in!

  4. Shaun said

    Just finished On the Road by Jack Kerouac. Now I’m reading Haunted by Chuck Palahnuik.

  5. Rachael said

    I love reading old classics. I just finished The Great Gatsby, a personal favorite.

  6. Philip said

    My last book read was “Unaccustomed Earth” by Jhumpa Lahiri. And now I’m about halfway through “How Fiction Works”, by James Wood.

  7. Yen said

    I just finished reading both of the books in The Hunger Games series written by Suzanne Collins. I read them both in 3 days… it was that good!

  8. Chuck said

    I’ve got two books going at the moment: a fun little volume entitled “The Sherlock Holmes Handbook: The Methods and Mysteries of the World’s Greatest Detective”, and a big collection of short stories by the late George Macdonald Fraser, “The Complete McAuslan”, humorous stuff based on his experiences in a Highland regiment of the British Army around the end of WWII.

  9. Wade said

    Count Zero by William Gibson.

  10. Catie said

    Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith and Jane Austen
    and
    One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey

  11. Scott said

    Xenocide by Orson Scott Card. Great series, although I think the first two were better.

  12. Ryan said

    “Hell’s Angels” by Hunter S. Thompson. “The Forever War” by Dexter Filkins. Two very different approaches to journalistic writing.

  13. Trish said

    An anthology of novels by Dashiell Hammet including ‘The Maltese Falcon’. Great hard boiled detective fiction from the 1920’s.

  14. Don said

    A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking.

  15. Ben said

    Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut. Classic Vonnegut-satire, good for anyone with a sense of humor

  16. Larry said

    I’m currently reading The Bone People by Keri Hulme while preparing for a trip to New Zealand.

    “The Bone People is a great book. I would thoroughly recommend it.”–Lauren, New Zealand

    I completely agree with my friend as far as I’ve read.

  17. Gary said

    Murakami, Haruki, Blind willow, sleeping woman : twenty-four stories / New York : Knopf, 2006. It was recommended by a former Lit professor friend who describes this as a blend of magical realism balanced with pragmatical sensibility. I got started with his conversational style memoir, “What I Talk about when I talk about running”

    For some grounded reading, I’m also slowly going through, “History and Class Consciousness” by Lukacs – an important and classic analysis of contemporary culture and Marxist theory.

  18. Kaitlin said

    Catch 22, The Red Tent, a French translation of While The Light Lasts by Agatha Christie and hopefully soon, Brave New World

  19. Justin said

    Quicksilver by Neal Stephenson. It can be tough, and dry, and make me look up words in the dictionary a lot, but it’s a great look at the late 1600’s, and a great story (if you have the patience for it). Best book I’ve read in a long time!

  20. Jayson said

    I’m reading a book called Love and Other Technologies: Retrofitting Eros for the Information Age by Dominic Pettman. Yes, I read theory for fun.

  21. Hoe-zay said

    Grapes of Wrath

    “The children and the women knew deep in themselves that there was no misfortune too great to bear if there men were whole.”

    Steinbeck, ftw.

  22. Tatyana said

    “Status Anxiety” by Alain de Botton. A historical overview of why we crave having a status in society and how it makes us anxious.
    “Nature and Madness” by Paul Shepard “A radical analysis of man’s apparent urge to destroy the planet he inhabits,…the cultural roots of our ecological crisis.”

  23. Flannery said

    The Natural by Bernard Malamud

    GO YANKEES!

  24. Sean said

    Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand…

    Its a political/social treatise, fictional novel, and self help book all in one. Longest book I’ve ever read but it made me smarter and changed my life

  25. Anonymous said

    jui

  26. Adrian said

    Recently Read “The Audacity to Win” about Obama winning the presidency, very good read with interesting technical insight into how campaigns view red/blue states…

    Also read “Angel Time” by Anne Rice, interesting book, entertaining…Not what’d you expect from this famous vampire author.

  27. I’m a huge fan of Ayn Rand’s work, and the objectivist philosophy. Free markets, and free will lead to growth and prosperity. More government and regulation leads to less growth and prosperity.

Leave a Reply

 
